ASA Award Winners

2011 Herskovitz Award winners and runners-up 2011 Distinguished Africanist Advertisements

OPPORTUNITIES in African Studies

AWARDS Amaury Talbot Prize for African Anthropology Sponsor: Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI) Description: The prize will be awarded to the author or authors of the most valuable of the submitted works of anthropological… Continue reading

From the ASA President

  hold page

FEATURES: Future Federal Funding for International Studies

By Judith Byfield FY 2011 proved to be a dismal economic year for Title VI and Fulbright-Hays programs.  Title VI funds distributed through the Department of Education support African Studies centers designated as… Continue reading

Ivan Karp Archive Launched

By Corinne A. Kratz, Emory University Emory University recently launched an online archive of Ivan Karp’s published papers in order to keep his work widely available (See obituary on this page). Karp was… Continue reading

New Interim Executive Director: Suzanne Moyer Baazet

Suzanne Moyer Baazet has been involved with the ASA since 2008 when she joined the organization as Senior Program Manager.  This will be Suzanne’s second term as Interim Executive Director, having previously served… Continue reading

Research Forum: An Interview with Scott Straus

hold space

OPINION: Kony 2012

The viral video Kony 2012 has produced a host of responses from all over the globe. Here are links to some particularly insightful commentary on the film from academics, journalists, and other local… Continue reading

2011 ASA Award Winners

By Charles Ambler, Professor of History, University of Texas-El Paso The 2011 awards were announced at the awards ceremony in Washington, D.C. with President Judith Byfield presiding. Herskovits Award Shared by Neil Kodesh… Continue reading

African Humanities Program Builds Network of Scholars

By Andrzej W. Tymowski, Director of International Programs, American Council of Learned Societies Right to Left: Andrea Johnson, Program Officer, Higher Education and Libraries in Africa, International Program of Carnegie Corporation; AHP postdoctoral fellows… Continue reading

New ASA News Editor

Laura Seay is an assistant professor of political science at Morehouse College in Atlanta, Georgia. Her research is centered around the study of social service delivery and non-state-based forms of governance in the eastern Democratic… Continue reading


Ivan Karp (1943-2011) Howard Wolpe (1939 -2011)


New Ogot Award Ivan Karp Archive Launched

Looking Ahead to the 2012 ASA Meeting in Philadelphia


Program Chairs Olaniyan Tejumola Olaniyan, Departments of English and African Languages and Literature, University of Wisconsin-Madison Staffan Lindberg, Departments of Political Science at University of Gothenburg, Sweden and University of… Continue reading